Saturday, February 27, 2010

Oakland Surenos: World Series Champs

Joe Rivera and Erubiel Maduro each slammed a pair of homers, powering the Oakland Surenos to a 12-5 win in Game 6 and the Joey Belle Season 14 Championship.

Jackson started Game 2 hero Del Mendoza in hopes of tying the Series, and he kept them in it, allowing just 2 over 6. But Jumbo Vargas and Clyde Jackson were even better for Oakland, limiting the Holes to just 1 hit through 6.

Jackson rallied to tie in the 7th on a MacDonald, 2-run homer, but then the Oakland bats went to work. With 2 out, Vinny Zhang blooped a single to right, William Kwon grounded a single to right-center, and Rivera blasted a 3-run shot to center. After a Burns single, Erubiel Maduro crushed one to right-center, and the Surenos had a 5-run lead.

The 2-time defending champs countered with a Carl Serrano 3-run homer in the 8th, but that would be all the scoring for Jackson.

Oakland loaded the bases with no outs in their half of the 8th, and Zhang worked a walk to bring in one. Kwon brought in one more on a fielder's choice to short, and then Rivera dumped one into the rightfield corner that got away from Burns and went for a 3-run inside-the-park homer. Russ Guthrie set down the Holes in order in the 9th to seal the win.

Oakland returns to the Winners' Circle for the second time (also Season 4), while Jackson falls short in its 3-peat bid.

The Surenos become the 4th team in Belle to win multiple World Series titles: Cleveland (Seasons 2 and 5) and Jackson (Seasons 12 and 13) have 2 each while Memphis has won 4 (Seasons 3, 8, 10 and 11) as the Charleston Apologists.

No comments:

Post a Comment